Municipality of Kreševo
Discovering a hidden village of skilled blacksmiths and artisans, surrounded by a bounty of precious ores and minerals - an invitation to embark on a journey through time
Explore the unique charm of Vranci, a village with a rich history and intriguing traditions. Just thirty years ago, the locals took great pride in maintaining the pristine waters of their river, a testament to their strong sense of cleanliness and community spirit. Not far from the famous Roman Bridge, you'll find an intriguing structure known as "ta'te," which served as a belfry in the absence of church bells during the Ottoman Empire's rule. Discover the fascinating Kreševo tradition of "shoeing eggs" and the romantic story behind its origin. There are various legends about the origins of this custom. According to one story, a poor young guy fell in love with a girl from a wealthy family, and the condition for proposing to her was that he shoe an egg, which seemed impossible. The young man fell in love and learnt to shoe an egg, and according to mythology, no young man could marry until he learned to shoe an egg. For motocross enthusiasts, the nearby Gajice area boasts the region's best motocross trail, hosting thrilling events that contribute to both Bosnian and European Motocross Championships. Vranci, a village that seamlessly blends history, tradition, and adrenaline-pumping adventures.
Traditional Crafts And Handcrafts
Main Tourism Products
Total number of available accommodations in the village: 2
At a distance of 15 minutes
Festival of traditional folk dances in Kraljeva sutjeska
The old medieval town of Bobovac
– Tombstone Necropolis in the village of Nažbilj
– Ponijeri mountain and Bočica mountain with a mountain lodge
– A walk through the Bukovica canyon to the old town of Bobovac
- The monastery archive has 453 books from the 16th century, 541 from the 17th, 1,687 from the 18th, and 1,050 books from the first half of the 19th century. The museum also keeps registry books from 1641 (the oldest in BiH), numerous manuscripts and chronicles. There are many written documents from the 15th to the 19th century (about 3,500 documents) important for the research of our domestic history. As an example, we cite the Donation of King Matijaš Corvinus from 1481, which refers to Bosnia and Dalmatia.
- According to folk tradition, the mosque in Kraljeva Sutjeska dates back to 1463, when Kraljeva Sutjeska was at the peak of its development. Tradition says that the mosque was built by Mehmed II the Conqueror, after the conquest of Bobovac, in just a few days. At the time of the medieval Turkish conquest, it was a border mosque, popularly known as the Soldier’s Mosque. The mosque has a rectangular base, dimensions 7.93 x 13.10 m. It is built of bricks with the use of wooden beams (the foundations and walls of the ground floor of the central area of the mosque up to the height of the plinth are made of stone), and the external and internal facades are plastered and painted. The roof structure is wooden, and double-folded tiles are used as a cover. The original covering was made of shingles.
- The minaret, with an octagonal cross-section, is made of 8 wooden edge posts with a quadrangular section, and the cross-section of these wooden posts gradually narrows from the base of the minaret to its top. The vertical structure of the minaret rests on a floor made in the form of a wooden grill, which rests on the transverse load-bearing wall of the mosque. By closing the portico area, and establishing gasulhana, abdestahana and classroom, putting tiles as a roof covering, painting interventions in the interior, the mosque lost its originality, which is corrected by returning it to its original state. In the harem of the mosque there are about 50 tombstones.
is a tradition still kept in Kraljeva Sutjeska until today and is a symbol of mourning for Queen Katarina, who, after the fall of the Bosnian kingdom under Ottoman rule, had to leave her children and country and die abroad. A black headscarf was worn and is worn by Catholic women from childhood until death as a sign of mourning for Queen Katarina, which is why she got the name “katarinka”. Today, this tradition is practiced most often for special holidays that are celebrated in Kraljeva Sutjeska (such as Ivan’s Day).